Pelonkey Spotlight: Alexander Morozov, Photographer

He photographed our launch party. He photographed the Prequel launch party. He’s been capturing magical weddings for years. He’ll make your corporate event look enchanting even if it isn’t. His name is Alexander Morozov, and he’s your new photography superstar.

alexander

How long have you been a photographer?

Since I was a kid, for fun, but that eventually evolved into doing it full-time since 2005.

How did you make that transition?

I was in Baltimore just walking around when I saw a photographer capturing a wedding outside. I was excited to see this and began thinking, This would be so cool to help out and learn the skill, so I approached the guy – without interrupting his work too much – and said, “Hey can I reach out to you later?” He gave me his card and that’s how I started, by helping him out.

Screen Shot 2016-03-11 at 10.28.21 AM.png

How would you describe your style?

I understand that an event just flies by in a few hours, or a day, then it’s gone. So my goal is to capture it in a way where a couple [for a wedding] can look back at it and relive the event with as many details as possible. I want to bring that emotion back to them. I call it “creative storytelling.” In reality it’s a combination of different styles blended together: photo journalism, fashion, fine art, product photography, nature photography, scenic shots.

A pure photojournalist will capture the day as it unfolds. I take it a step further. I pull from fine art, dramatic lighting, shadows, depth of field. A little bit of fashion comes in handy for bride and groom shots. [Laughs] I can make the groom look tougher if he wants to. It’s part of my skill to make sure [the clients] are happy. Now, if someone falls on a cake, if something happens, a dress gets torn or dirty, or someone is injured, I don’t capture that. That’s not what the day is for. I capture the day beautifully.

Screen Shot 2016-03-11 at 10.34.53 AM.png

Now that you have your own studio and brand, how do you ensure your other photographers stick to your style?

When I train my associates I tell them the same thing: what to do, how to pay attention [to the guests and their surroundings]. Sometimes people skip the architecture of the place or the outside shots of the venue, which is very common in corporate photography. Some photographers don’t pay attention to where the event was held, they look at the speakers and people. But I see that the venue is kind of neglected, and I like to capture it and do the scenic shots and architecture shots to tell the full story.

Screen Shot 2016-03-11 at 10.27.51 AM.png

In what other ways does corporate event photography differ from your wedding shoots?

Take a fundraising gala or something. In addition to lots of different details and environmental shots, my goal is to show that it was a successful, highly attended, exciting event. I look for the angles that will showcase the most people, I capture the best sides of the event. Like in PR, I want to portray the event in the best light possible. But again I think what’s neglected in corporate photography are the detailed shots. They’re not important in the sense that the speakers and the VIPs are, but in the scope of [telling the story] and shooting the ambiance, they are. It’s similar to a restaurant. It might be a hole in the wall with delicious food, and that’s great, but in my opinion, it would be more enhanced by [strategic] ambiance – low light, comfortable seating – these things are not important to the taste of the food, but will enhance the experience. I try to recreate that with my corporate photography.

Even if you don’t have an event coming up, you should hire Alexander to take photos of you and your family at home. Or just hire him as your own personal paparazzi throughout the day to capture you in your best light from breakfast to dessert. It’ll be so worth it!

Because he’s so fancy, he has two different websites you can check out : [uno] & [dos]. He’s also on your favorite social media sites, so go, run, Like! Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Leave a Reply

